top of page

فِي سَبِيلِ ٱللَّٰهِ



Fee sabillilah


I was reading Qu’ran the other day and when reading I came across the phrase ‘fee sabilillah’. I didn’t know what it meant but it sounded so beautiful that I knew it would have a beautiful meaning too. It means: For the sake of Allah.


It got me thinking a bit about how people talk about loving someone for the sake of Allah. I never quite understood that. I know that everything we do should be for the sake of Allah- but I couldn’t understand how the feeling of love for my husband was me doing so for the sake of Allah? It’s not a feeling that I control, or a feeling that I decided.


For years I’ve always wondered, how do you love someone for the sake of Allah? But now i’m starting to understand what that means to me. Allah has blessed us with people to love and when we love them for the His sake, it is with our actions. It is what we do with that love.


Instead of losing my temper and fighting with my husband, for the sake of Allah I wont let my anger overtake my love. Instead of allowing frustration with your parents to take over with the small things, act out of your love for them instead.


So, it is not in the feelings that He’s blessed us with that we love for His sake. But, its in the way that we act on those feelings and the way that we treat and respect those feelings.


So when you love someone, let your love and expression of that love be fi saa biLillah.


x

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page