top of page

I have no value

I have no value, not unless..

I have no value unless I’m productive.

I have no value unless I’m beautiful.

I have no value because I’m not smart enough

Not pretty enough

Not religious enough

Not outgoing enough

Not quiet enough

Not skinny enough.


Sounds stupid to say right?


But then why do we live our lives according to these damaging statements? Why are these an underlying part of our beliefs?



 

Even if we don’t declare these openly, even if we don’t think these things consciously, these conditions of value perpetuate in our behaviour, our actions and our choices.


But they should not. And they won’t if we just actively choose to accept one simple fact.


Our worth is inherent.

Our value is inherent.

We have worth and we have value just by existing.


We are worthwhile because we are creations of The One Most Perfect. He gave us our lives, and made us in the most perfect of forms. So how can we question our value, when it was intertwined into our very being?



 


Saying this, however, worth is not bound to perfection. Because no one is perfect. Our worth and value is within us, irrespective of all circumstances. But perfection is something that will never be reached. So why do we spend so much time trying to achieve perfection in order to feel worth? It is a clear paradox.


Untangle perfection and worth, and see that your worth exists no matter what.


 


So next time you begin feeling that to have worth you must do something, you must have something, you must be something. Know that by just being- you have value.


 

What’s something you base your value on? Remind yourself that you have value regardless of it.


*I’m no longer the highest achiever now that I’m at University. A quality that has always been central to my worth no longer exists. But- I still have value.*

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page