top of page

An extract from 'Free To Go'

Updated: Sep 28, 2020

Chapter 1


 

The room is dimly lit. But, my focus is drawn to the corner where a green backpack is resting. The colours boldness would undoubtedly attract the eyes of any passersby.

It radiates beauty.

It seems as though it is full to the brim. Yet we are unable to see what is within. The emerald green fabric is all that meets the eye.

The bag is just like one and every man; such blind uncertainty of what’s truly within.


The brown walls feel as though they enclose, engulfing me inside. Near the centre of the room sits an isolated wooden bench. Neglected.

A musky scent gradually fills the room, enveloping the air in its path. Quiet rustling of tree branches begins to eliminate the silence that rings in my head. The silence, the musk, the somber light all permeating through the air…

A light flickers in the corner, a shadow slides from the opposite corner. And another. Two shadows.


“You can relax. I’m probably not going to shoot you.

I like you… remember?

Well, actually, I did. I liked you, but that was before you hurt me. You let me walk away and you didn’t even care, you couldn’t even bring yourself to watch as I walked away- broken by your words.”


I begin to chuckle to myself uncontrollable, becoming almost hysterical, then abruptly I come to a pause.

“You didn’t care then - so tell me; why should I now?” I snarl.

But it’s okay, it’s too late now. Yes, your words stabbed, but although it hurt, I’m okay now; now I’m so much better. I sneer as I begin to walk towards him in slow strides.

I’m not sad now. But we‘ve all got to be sad at one point- weak at one point, but reaching in and letting it out as anger that’s not weakness, that’s strength.” I purr into his ear.


“You see, I always worried you might see me as weak. But I bet that you can’t look me in the eye and tell me that’s true. It isn’t. It’s me that’s in control this time and I won’t let myself care about you. Not anymore.”

“Now you’re going to see what it’s like to hurt… Now you can feel it too; it’s my turn to hurt you. The words leave my body as whispers, a small snake escaping from my wild mind.


Agony emits rapidly from his body like a bulb sparked alight. Pain, fear, such beautiful trepidation. A single shred of sweat slips down his forehead. The sight of his pain filling me with ecstasy. Widened eyes, frowned brows. The creases on his primarily smooth skin growing sharper.


With his eyes fixated on me, I sense his growing apprehension. That feeling, that sensation of delight, yet a twang of guilt begins to rise.


“Please Belle. Let me explain, I never meant-” he whimpers, his silky voice sliding through me, but I cut him off sharply.

I laugh menacingly, intentionally drowning out the sound of his voice- I can’t let him feed my uncertainty.


“You don’t understand, I thought I was doing what was best for you. I couldn’t give you what you deserve…please, please don’t do this. Whimpering with puppy dog eyes he begs.

Let me explain, please Belle we can get through this. I never meant to hurt you.

Belle you’re not well, I can help you. I can help you get better,” he pleads desperately, his longing golden eyes hanging on to mine, cold and stiff.


“THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH ME!” I scream.

I have to do what’s right Aiden. I have to show you what you did to me.

It will only take a second. Or maybe I’ll give you time to ache for longer instead. You don’t deserve to leave so easily. So quickly. You will feel the pain that I do. That I did.” I say, quickly correcting myself.


1..2..” I count, still cackling to myself uncontrollably.

My grip tightens on the trigger. Sweat dripping onto my sleeve. But I’m not nervous.

He is getting what he deserves.

This is what he deserves.

“This isn’t you. I’m begging you pl-” he cries out in utter desperation.

This is the choice I have made: it is what I have to do. I have to remove my pain. He is my pain.


My voice cracks. My head pounding. My heart begging to be released. The smell of fresh pastry fills the air, calming my frantically shaking body.

“Belle! My cancer has returned. I’m dying.” He says hopelessly.

What???? I didn’t know. I have to tell him my secret too. I have to tell him the truth.

“I’m pregnant” I shout.

“I still love you.” He cries.


His words echo strongly, ringing through my head and I want to stop myself- I don’t want him dead. But as I try to let go, the wind howls around me, the whispers in the air, they all howl 3. Malevolence widespread. It’s too late…

BANG!



 

Available on Amazon in paperback or ebook form:





Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page